Soliciting Nominations for the 2021 Guha Awards

Abhijit Guha was the sixth president of the Society for Neuro-Oncology and during his career was also active in the leadership of the Section on Tumors of the AANS/CNS. Dr. Guha was a clinical neurosurgeon who maintained a research laboratory, and trained numerous post-doctoral fellows, residents, and students in neuro-oncology research.   Correspondingly, the Guha Award recognizes an accomplished physician-scientist who has made significant contributions in laboratory-based science.  In addition, the award seeks to recognize an individual who has played an active role in the mentorship of the next generation of neuro-oncology professionals.  The award is open to U.S., Canadian and international nominees.

Each person can nominate up to 3 candidates.

Key award criteria include:

  • M.D. or M.D.,Ph.D. degrees (or. D.O. or D.O., Ph.D. degrees)
  • Active clinical practice in adult or pediatric oncology, neurosurgery, neuro-oncology, pathology,  radiation oncology, or radiology
  • Laboratory-based scientific achievements
  • Track record of mentorship
  • Not a previous Guha’s Award recipient or now defunct Farber Award (see list below) 

Deadline for nominations is Thursday June 1, 2021.

Send nominations to Costas Hadjipanayis, MD, PhD, at

Previous Farber-Guha Award recipients

2020 Amy Heimberger

2019 David Gutmann

2018 Linda Liau

2017 Fred Lang

2016 Michael Taylor

2015 John Sampson

2014 Ken Aldape

2013 Henry Brem

2012 James T. Rutka

2011Not given

2010 Roger Stupp

2009 Peter Dirks

2008 E. Antonio Chiocca

2007 Dr. Paul Mischel

2006 Mitch Berger

2005 James T. Rutka

2004 Eric C. Holland

2003 David N. Louis

2002 Abhiijt Guha

2001Robert Martuza

2000 Stuart Grossman

1999 Ed Oldfield

1998 Mark Isreal

1997 Peter Berger

1996 Gregory Cairncross

1995 Philip Gutin

1994 Web Cavenee